oh…National Drink Wine Day?

When I discovered this was a national drinking day the first thing I did was text my most trusted drinking buddy.  Her response?  “National wine day… Isn’t that everyday?”

I keep telling everyone I’m not an alcoholic.  I just like to enjoy a glass or two, maybe three.  Okay, Okay…sometimes the whole bottle.  I’ll be honest, there are days wine and cheese might be dinner.   But I consider wine a lifestyle. It helps my mind unwind after a day of well…crazy.  And you know what? I’m not alone here.  Many enjoy the sweet or dry taste of this corked goodness.  I might even consider it to be my favorite pastime. There is nothing more exciting I look forward to than exploring new wine.  Everyone has hobbies.  I’ll go for red, white, blush.. bubbly. I’m not picky.  If you have to ask if its too early to drink wine, then I don’t think we can be friends.  My life is summed up by strong coffee until some unraveling disaster… then wine.

Actually, based on research there are some positive reasons to drink wine and health benefits to boot.  Uh hmmm.  I’m serious.Unknown

 

  1. “Write drunk, edit sober.”  Ernest Hemingway said it best.  Wine can make you a fluid writer.  It helps get your creative juices flowing.
  2.  I found a study regarding the health benefits of resveratrol, a compound commonly found in red wine, has revealed your body can receive benefits of a gym session without actually completing this so called gym session.  Red wine also contains flavonoids, which may reduce bad cholesterol and increase the good cholesterol.  Studies have also suggested that it can reduce the risk of blood clots and maintain a  healthy blood pressure!  BUT…there is less evidence that the benefits of wine apply to drinking white or rosé.  Case-in-point, drink the red stuff.
  3. It will make you happy:  Lets be honest, has wine ever put you in a bad mood?  In my experience, this stuff is happy liquid that warms my soul.  It it can help you relax…mingle, start up great conversation.  It can make you socially fearless.
  4. Technicalllyyy its fruit:  I mean, it’s fermented grapes.  Eating enough fruits and veggies can keep you healthy and strong.  Now if we could get chocolate to be considered a vegetable and beer = grain on that food pyramid.
  5. Mimosas are acceptable in fancy establishments for breakfast.  Enough said.
  6. It’s a great pastime:  What is more worldly than tasting wines from all over the globe in a fancy vineyard with exquisite cheese boards?
  7. It takes the stress out of dealing with people you don’t want to deal with.  Chatty Kathy, sales people, your mother- in- law.
  8. And last but not least…you’re getting married, you’re not getting married, you’re getting divorced.

           Cheers to you and Cheers to me.

Leave a comment